You are viewing miss_sbooks

Two for the Show - A Second Resource: YABC

P&P - Elizabeth - standing in breeze on
YABC - Young Adult Book Central - is another excellent resource for those interested in young adult fiction. It offers visitors to the site book reviews; author biographies, bibliographies, and interviews; recommendation and best lists; the latest book news; book excerpts; book trailers; and they even have free book giveaways, too.

Want to check it out now?

Of course you do.

See YABC HERE.



Tags:

A New Resource: The Hub

P&P - Elizabeth - standing in breeze on
I'm not sure how this resource managed to elude me for so long, but YALSA has a separate literature blog called The Hub. According to the blog's own About page, "The mission of The Hub: Your Connection to Teen Reads is to provide a one-stop-shop for finding information about teen reads, including recommendations for great teen reads, information about YALSA lists and awards, book trailers and other book-related videos, and best of the best lists."

I've only just discovered it today, but I know that I will be keeping a window open to this blog along with the home blog for YALSA. With just a few brief glances at The Hub's content, it's easy to see just how amazing of a resource it's going to be. I hope you'll find it both entertaining and useful as well.

Enjoy!

Do the Figment!

P&P - Elizabeth - standing in breeze on
There's a new reading/writing site aimed towards young adults. Not only does it provide readers with free reading material, but it also presents the opportunity for teens who enjoy writing to share their stories online and connect with other writers and readers. Signing up is free.

To explore and maybe even join, click HERE.

Go Figment yourselves, everyone.

To go along with the launch of the site, YALSA recently presented a podcast interview with Katie Robbins of Figment. To listen, you can find the link HERE, via the YALSA blog.

Enjoy!
P&P - Elizabeth - standing in breeze on
Live Journal Users Who are Also YA Authors:

Sarah Dessen - writergrl 
Laurie Halse Anderson - halseanderson 
Sara Zarr - sarazarr 
Tara McCarthy Altebrando -taltebrando 
Susane Colasanti - windowlight 
Lara Zeises - zeisgeist 
Alex Flinn - alixwrites 
Holly Black - blackholly 
Cecil Castellucci - castellucci 
Cinda Williams Chima - cindachima 
David Lubar - davidlubar 
DeborahHeiligman - deborah18 
Edit Cohn - edithspage 
Ellen Kushner - ellen_kushner 
Janni Lee Simner - janni 
Jo Knowles - jbknowles 
Libba Bray - libba_bray 
Mary E. Pearson - marypearson 
Melissa Marr - melissa_writing 
Gail Giles - notjazz 
Phil Bildner - philbildner 
Sarah Darer Littman - saraclaradara 
Tamora Pierce - tammy212, tammypierce 
Tanya Lee Stone - tanyaleestone 
Theodor Black - theoblack 
David Macinnis Gill - thunderchikin
Amanda Coppedge - acoppedge 
Alma Fullerton - almafullerton 
Amanda Marrone - amanda_marrone 
Arthur Slade - arthurslade 
Carrie Jones - carriejones 
Catherine Atkins - cawriter 
Christina Diaz Gonzalez - christina_dg 
Coe Booth - coebooth 
Crissa Chappell - crissachappell 
Cynthia Leitich Smith - cynleitichsmith 
Debbie Reed Fischer - debbierfischer 
Debra Garfinkle - dlgarfinkle 
E. Lockhart - e_lockhart 
Gaby Triana - gabytriana 
Kimberley Little - kimberleylittle 
Lisa Schroeder - lisa_schroeder 
Lisa Yee - lisayee 
L.K. Madigan - lkmadigan 
Mary Beth Miller - mbcatmiller 
Melissa Wyatt - melissawyatt 
Mette Harrison - metteharrison 
Stacy DeKeyser - stacy_dekeyser 
Ann Dee Ellis - adellis 
Adrienne Maria Vrettos - amvrettos 
April Henry - aprilhenry 
Elizabeth Scott - elizabethscott 
Eric Luper - eluper 
Jennifer Lynn Barnes - jenlyn_b 
Jenny Han - jennyhan 
Jo Whittemore - jo_no_anne 
Justina Headley - justinaheadley 
Laura Bowers - laurabowers 
Marlene Perez - marperez 
Robyn Schneider - robbiewriter 
Sara Ryan - sararyan 
Sara Bennett-Wealer - sbennettwealer 
Siobhan Vivian - siobhan_says_so 
Varian Johnson - varianjohnson 
Daria Snadowsky - adultolescent 
Aimee Ferris - aimee_ferris 
Courtney Sheinmel - courtneywrites 
Daphne Grab - daphnegrab 
Sarah Aronson - saraharonson 
Phoebe Kitanidis - phoebe_k 
Laurie Faria Stolarz - lstolarz 
Lola Douglas - loladouglas 
Linda Oatman High - lohigh58 
Linda J. Singleton - lindajsingleton 
Lauren Barnholdt - laurenbarnholdt 
Kimberly Pauley - kimpauley 
Laura Williams Mccaffrey - lauramc 
Laura Wiess - gypsyrobin 
Barbara Caridad Ferrer - fashionista_35 
Amy Mcauley - amymcauley 
Ally Cowee - allycatophile 
Tiffany Trent - tltrent 


Other Interesting/Relevant Blogs/Communities:
dirtylibrarian 
professornana 
Stacy Whitman - slwhitman 
Little Willow - slayground 
annecy_dit 
readergirlz 
ya_review 
deenaml 
yalitlovers 


*** This is by no means a complete list yet, but I will continue to add to it. Also, some of these blogs are updated far more often than the others. ***

An Essential Tool

P&P - Elizabeth - standing in breeze on
For anyone interested in young adult fiction, YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association) is a must. It provides so many valuable resources (many of which I will try to mention and link to below) and an excellent springboard for discussion. It's a place to go when you're seeking help, and it's a place to go when you feel you have valuable information and insight that could lend help to others.

For YALSA news and events, visit HERE. Not only do they provide links to other sources, including the YALSA Blog, but there's a convenient calendar which lists all upcoming YALSA events.

Find YALSA's page for book recommendations and book award winners HERE. (In the archives, I will provide more detailed information about all of these lists.)

YALSA also provides a listing of various awards and grants that it offers to the library world HERE.

And that's just some highlights. Find more through your own exploration and join!

Tags:

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Latest Month

January 2014
S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com